The Spiritual Human Anatomy

A brief breakdown of what makes a human being.

A human being is a compound of many subtleties (lataif) and sub-spirits (jussas).


n total, there are seven main subtleties in the human body which are present in the blood. When enlightened, some of these subtleties are able to produce sub-spirits for a total of 16 spirits that comprise an enlightened human being. The main subtleties are: the Qalb (the spiritual heart), the Rouh (the human soul), the Sirri (the secret), the Khafi (the arcane), the Akhfah (the obscure), the Ana and the Nafs (the Self/Ego). Each of these subtleties is related to a particular realm in the universe; when enlightened, they can reach their respective realms through spiritual journey.

‘Spirituality has nothing to do with any religion. Spirituality is the knowledge with the help of which you can awaken your souls. You can strengthen them and through them, you reach the higher realms and approach God.’

— His Divine Eminence Lord Ra Riaz Gohar Shahi


An in-depth explanation of the subtleties in the human body and their various functions can be found in The Religion of God (Divine Love) by His Divine Eminence Lord Ra Riaz Gohar Shahi.

Learn more

Below is a diagram depicting each of the subtleties in the human body and their relation to the higher realms. The subtleties are numbered in accordance to the realm they belong to.

6. Divine Oneness


5. Divine Unity


4. Nothingness


3. Realm of Souls


2. Realm of Angels


1. Phenomenal World


Start typing and press Enter to search